Grandparenting – nothing like it!!

Aubren
Aubren
Paris and Brookklyn
Paris and Brooklyn
Leeson, 3 months
Leeson, 3 months
IMG_7799
Alyssa and Elena
Twins Ethan and Evan
Twins Evan and Ethan

Until Sunday, our 13-month-old grandson, Aubren, squealed with delight whenever Grandpa came home.  But not any more.

Aubren has discovered girls!

The girls in question are his cousins, Paris and Brooklyn, who are 7 and 6 (almost 8 and 7) respectively.  Our son drops them off and I drive them to school.   When they return just after 4, we hear the same squeals of delight as the girls entertain him until their dad gets back to take them home.  As any man knows, girls can be a distraction.   From the moment they arrive, these two girls distract him constantly.  He only has eyes for them.

It’s lovely to see them together.

There’s a fourth one, too.  Aubren has a younger brother who is only three months old, called Leeson.  Leeson isn’t quite as active yet but he enjoys watching the other three from the comfort of his “Einstein chair.”  When the girls are around, there’s always a smile on his face.

From this Sunday, four grows to eight as we are traveling down to visit our daughter and son-in-law in Indianapolis for a few days.  They have four children themselves, including twin boys born in September, just six months ago.  The boys are called Ethan and Evan.  Their older girls, Alyssa and Elena, are 8 (today) and 6 and are very good at watching their brothers.

Eight young children under one roof is a daunting prospect.  It’s quite likely I will invite my son-in-law, Mike, to join me for a drink one evening, somewhere, anywhere, away from the house!  Make that two evenings!

No, I’m sure it will be a great joy to see them all having fun together and especially to see the girls taking care of their younger brothers and cousins.

Grandparenting really is the best time of life.  It’s so good we should have done it first!

Having grandchildren takes your mind off all the ailments that afflict us as we age, all the disappointments and set-backs.  When you have to change a poopie diaper, it takes your mind off everything else!

But it’s also good to see the world anew, through the eyes of youngsters who have just entered it.  Everything is a wonder to them.  When I take Aubren for a walk in his stroller, he looks around at the world around him, taking it all in.   He’s especially fascinated with trees.  But also dogs.  He loves dogs.

Seeing the world through a child’s eyes, you see everything new.  It’s like living your life all over again.  I now have a deeper understanding of what Jesus Christ said in Matthew 18:3 — “And he said, Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  It’s spiritually beneficial to spend time with your grandchildren.   Each day we should try to learn something new.  We need to be teachable just like little children.

By the time most people are grandparents they have come to realize the importance of relationships over material things.  The desire is simply to be involved in the lives of our grandchildren, to leave a legacy that will last for generations.

I still remember my grandparents.  I was very fond of them and deeply appreciative of the time they spent with me.  Not then, of course.  When I was a child I didn’t think about it, but now I do and I love them more dearly as I get older.   I look forward to seeing them again in the resurrection.

Meanwhile, I’m not too worried about Aubren’s fascination with girls.  He will soon realize that only Grandpa can afford to buy him ice cream!

10 thoughts on “Grandparenting – nothing like it!!”

  1. I love being a grandparent. I love even more being a GREAT grandparent. Seems like I was to busy working to really enjoy the grandchildren as much as I am enjoying the Greats. Loved reading about yours. Have a safe trip.
    Hugs Trish

  2. Amen! I love being a grandmother and we are thoroughly enjoying the visit of our 4th grandchild to fly solo (at age 6) from interstate to spend a week with us. We spent a day at the beach swimming and running today when I thought I’d left both behind…Enjoy!

  3. Loved seeing the pics of your grandchildren. Can not believe it has been a whole year since you were in East London, South Africa with us. Enjoy your visit with the family.

  4. I loved this post! I identified with it on many levels since I also have many little ones who are about the same ages as your little grandkids. But, I am always reminded of something my mother told me. This was something she told me as I had just become a new parent. I was basking in the glow of the beautiful baby I had just given birth to. I felt that I had finally reached a point where I could relate to my own mother because I was finally a parent myself. This was when she told me, “You cannot understand what it is to be a grandparent.”

    Even though I have not yet reached grandparenthood I find joy in seeing the circle of life that we all are a part of. In my mind I can see back to past generations and realize that this is the cycle that has always been. From child to parent to grandparent. I also find joy in thinking that the little ones that I am raising will also grow to be parents and grandparents themselves. I hope that as I travel along this path I can always look back and empathize with those who are also traveling, but at a different place than I am on the path.

    1. How very many opportunities to be a grandparent you are going to have, Kimberly! You will cherish each and every one of them, as I cherish all of the wonderful grandchildren that you and your brother, Jonathan, have so richly blessed your father and me with.

  5. I was nearly mortified when I first learned, for the first time, that I was going to be a grandparent! I was too young for that, I told myself. That was almost ten grandchildren ago. I say “almost” because we await the arrival of our tenth grandchild, and fifth granddaughter, virtually any day now. How well I remember the birth of our first grandchild, Benjamin. I fell in love with him from the moment he was born and that love has grown over the past 16 and a half years. I’m glad I have been young enough to really, actively enjoy them. Last weekend, my 3-year-old granddaughter, Layla, had me climbing on a jungle gym with her and going down a really slippery sliding board!

    It’s exactly as you said: grandparenthood is the greatest! And, by the way, I am enjoying your Aubren and Leeson, too!

  6. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  7. Hello, fellow grandparenter…..if that is a word! Ha! Only 20 months ago, I joined the ranks of this wonderful world of grandparenting and have loved every moment! In fact, I have created a website that explains many of the issues and joys that we have experienced during my daughter’s high-risk pregnancy and subsequent health issues of one of my twins grandsons. Please check it out at http://www.grandparenting-essentials.com Happy Grandparenting!

Leave a Reply

